Khon Chan Sithyka, one of Brodal Serei’s dancers

MoBrodalSerei

© John Vink / Magnum Photos

“When I was young, my house was next to the old stadium where boxers trained, so I could go and watch them. When Emmanuèle Phuon asked me to join her Brodal Serei project, we all practiced with professional boxers. As soon as I joined, I realized boxing is not as easy as it seems. The most challenging part for me was to incorporate the daily routine of boxers in my dance moves. I used to fight during high school so combining dancing and boxing is good to me. I think what I have learnt about the boxing world is that being a boxer is not easy but their life is fascinating.”

This entry was posted in Brodal serei, Emmanuele Phuon, Khon Brothers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

